Scrambled eggs and chilli

First published June 2015

I recently purchased a chilli plant for my window ledge. It is absolutely covered in fruits, I only hope that I can keep it alive long enough to take full advantage. (House plants and I don’t have a great history of success.)

This constant supply of fresh and fairly hot chillies has triggered a craving for one of my favourite breakfast options. Simple but rewarding this dish deserves only the best of ingredients so I popped out to buy Yorkshire free range eggs and outdoor bred, British bacon from my local butchers and grabbed the frying pan.

Middle bacon with spicy eggs and tomatoes.

Serves One

Fry two slices of middle bacon and set aside to drain. Throw 6 or 7 cherry tomatoes into the pan and cook over a low heat whilst preparing the eggs.

For the scrambled eggs

Beat three eggs, salt and pepper in a large cup. Finely chop one small, hot chilli pepper. Roughly chop a handful of fresh coriander.

When the tomatoes are just cooked, remove from the pan and set aside. Fry the chilli pepper for 1-2 minutes then pour in the beaten and seasoned eggs. Stir as for scrambled eggs. Fold in the coriander just before they reach your chosen consistency and plate up the eggs, bacon and tomatoes. Enjoy with a big mug of coffee.

Leave a comment